10 October 2023

UCI E-MTB XC World Cup season finale is around the corner

All set for a one-shot race in Barcelona that will define everything alongside the awaited end-season Prize-Giving Ceremony


Versión en español AQUÍ

Barcelona (Spain), Tuesday 10 October 2023 – In a single race format, the UCI E-MTB XC World Cup season reaches its climax as it seeks to define all the remaining awards in Barcelona Round presented by Magneti Marelli as per the tradition started back in 2019.

With a rich history of competition over the seasons, it’s time once again to bid farewell to an intense battle in Castelldefels-Barcelona, near the Catalan capital city.

Justine Tonso and Jérôme Gilloux (Lapierre Overvolt) have already secured the top spot as 2023 World Cup Winners, along with their crew as the Winning Team.

WES Winners


Since 2019, Barcelona has become a regular venue for the season’s Grand Finale. However, in 2020, the event was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

In 2021, Mélanie Pugin was the Overall winner, while Nicole Göldi clinched next year’s title in the Women’s side.

2022 Barcelona Round

“The Specialist” Gilloux, on the other hand, has solidified his dominance by securing the 2021, 2022, and now 2023 World Cup titles.

Final battle


With a single-race format for the final race, riders will have only one chance to secure their place in the history books, while the city’s landscapes and terrain provide the perfect setting for the world’s top E-MTB athletes.

Sofia Wiedenroth (Specialized)

The racetrack designed for the series’ last episode is 3.9 km lap length (27.3 km total length), 7 laps and 952 m of total ascent level.

Local riders, Genis Lloreta (Penya Ciclista Cervera), Gabriel Torrealba (OOLAB TEAM), Jofre Cullel Estape (BH COLOMA TEAM), Jorda Cullell Estape (Club Ciclista Farners), 4-time Endurance World Champion David Checa and World SBK Champion Carlos Checa will be taking to the race track.

Jérôme Gilloux (Lapierre Overvolt) at Barcelona 2022

Haizea Prieto Cuesta (Oiartzun Bike) is set to make her debut in WES, while 2023 UCI World Championships Nathalie Schneitter (Trek-Bosch), makes her return to the series.

Meanwhile, Lluc Coma Macià (Farners Club Ciclista) fresh from his first podium achievement in Girona, is gearing up for another race.

End-season Prize-Giving Ceremony


  • World Cup Women’s and Men’s Winners
  • World Cup Women’s and Men’s 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 5th place finishers
  • Winning Team
  • Raspini Pole Position Women’s and Men’s Winners
  • Magneti Marelli Checkstar Power Lap Women’s and Men’s Winners
  • Fassi Holeshot Women’s and Men’s Winners

Sofia Wiedenroth (Specialized)

Follow the race Live Timing and get the entry lists and all the results HERE
Download the Barcelona 2022 photogallery HERE
Download WES Barcelona Round Event Schedule and Race Maps HERE
Barcelona Round predictions HERE
Download this Press Release in PDF HERE