23 October 2023

Spielmann takes her first race win, Gilloux wraps up the season with a triumphant finish

After a season filled with several emotions, riders and teams enjoyed the 2023 WES Awards Ceremony


Versión en español AQUÍ

Barcelona (Spain), Monday 23 October 2023 – The UCI E-MTB XC World Cup season got to an end last weekend at the Castelldefels-Barcelona Round presented by Magneti Marelli Checkstar, the traditional, ideal stage for the final battle, in perfect weather conditions, that brought together elite riders from around the world.


Before the main race start, the Qualirace determined the fastest riders who would lead the pack. Permanent rider, Sofia Wiedenroth (Specialized) and returning Guillem Cassu (Bafang Factory Team) set the fastest time and took the last Raspini Pole Position of the season.

Anna Spielmann (Haibike)

As the race officially began, Anna Spielmann (Haibike) and Joris Ryf (Specialized) quickly established themselves as frontrunners by securing the Fassi Holeshot in the first corner.

Round 7 Fassi Holeshot

Women’s Race

In the Women’s field, Wiedenroth held her ground during the initial two laps. However, the third lap saw Spielmann making a move to overtake her, clinching the top spot and holding onto it until the end.

Sofia Wiedenroth (Specialized)

Reigning German Champ defended her second place, but Reigning World Champ Nathalie Schneitter (Trek-Bosch) gradually closed the gap, lap by lap, surging ahead to claim the podium’s second spot.

This turn of events relegated Wiedenroth to third. Justine Tonso (Lapierre Overvolt), who secured the World Cup title in the previous Girona Round, crossed the finish line in fourth after an arduous race, followed by Antonia Daubermann (Advanced E-Racing) in fifth, and Spanish debutant Haizea Prieto (Oiartzun Bike) finishing in sixth with a solid performance.

R7 Women’s Podium with Haibike Team Representative collecting Anna Spielmann’s Award

Men’s Race

The Men’s race unfolded with Jérôme Gilloux (Lapierre Overvolt) taking the lead, while Ryf and Italian Mirko Tabacchi (RDR Italia Factory) engaged in a side-by-side battle.

Jérôme Gilloux (Lapierre Overvolt)

Unfortunately, Ryf’s efforts were short-lived as he suffered a chain break on his e-bike, forcing him to retire. “The Specialist” Gilloux maintained his lead as the laps went by, increasing the gap ahead of Italian Tabacchi, who had local Cassu in pursuit.

Joris Ryf (Specialized) and Mirko Tabacchi (RDR Italia Factory)

In the end, the World Cup Winner Gilloux crossed the finish line in first followed by Tabacchi in second, and Cassu in third.

“It’s good to win the last one and to conclude an almost perfect WES season. In a few places it wasn’t a perfect race, but I took a podium finish in all races. I think it’s an overall 90% of victories so, that’s good. Today was a different race, slower riding, much more technical, with tight turns and small obstacles to pass. The race start with Joris (Ryf) was really fast! I managed to get behind him and overtake in the middle of the first lap and then I had the battle with Mirko (Tabacchi) and Guillem (Cassu). So, I am happy to win in front of them, that’s another podium and we end the season well. Now we can go celebrate!”, said Gilloux.

Jérôme Gilloux (Lapierre Overvolt)

Jofre Cullel Estape (BH COLOMA TEAM) claimed the fourth spot, with Jeroen van Eck (GHOST Racing Team) rounding out the top five.

After this Round, the UCI E-MTB XC World Cup in Barcelona provided an unforgettable race day and season, which was later celebrated during the 2023 WES Ceremony Awards.

R7 Men’s Podium in Castelldefels

2023 WES Awards Ceremony

Since 2019, the final Awards presentation was held in Castelldefels-Barcelona for the teams and riders’ delight. WES started with a 4-event calendar that year and it’s now a 7-round competition, adding new venues and countries, and representing a constantly growing asset in world cycling, as well as the reference in e-biking.

A huge improvement also in the General Classification with additional awards and prize money for the top-5 classified Women and Men, plus additional awards from WES’ partners.

The overall participation saw 44 Men and 14 Women from 13 different nations, between new and old faces, confirming their trust in the series.

World Cup GC


1st Justine Tonso (FRA), Lapierre Overvolt Team
2nd Sofia Wiedenroth (GER), Specialized Enduro Team
3rd Antonia Daubermann (GER), Advanced E-Racing Team
4th Nathalie Schneitter (SWI), Trek Bosch Team
5th Anna Spielmann (AUS), Haibike Team


1st Jérôme Gilloux (FRA), Lapierre Overvolt Team
2nd Joris Ryf (SWI), Specialized Enduro Team
3rd Théo Charmes (FRA), Team AOTL-Cube
4th Rico Libesch (GER), Advanced E-Racing Team
5th Heiko Hog (GER), Advanced E-Racing Team

World Cup Winners Justine Tonso and Jérôme Gilloux (Lapierre Overvolt)


(W) Sofia Wiedenroth (GER), Specialized Enduro Team
(M) Jérôme Gilloux (FRA), Lapierre Overvolt Team

Raspini Pole Position Winners


(W) Sofia Wiedenroth (GER), Specialized Enduro Team
(M) Jérôme Gilloux (FRA), Lapierre Overvolt Team

Fassi Holeshot Winners


(W) Justine Tonso (FRA), Lapierre Overvolt Team
(M) Jérôme Gilloux (FRA), Lapierre Overvolt Team

Magneti Marelli Checkstar Power Lap Award Winners

2024 WES Calendar will be unveiled in the next few weeks, with great news and an always-growing excitement.

Download the results HERE
Download the photo gallery HERE
Download this Press Release in PDF HERE