11 October 2022

One last shot to get to the top!

The UCI E-MTB World Cup comes back to Barcelona for the Final Round

Monaco (P.ty), Tuesday 11 October 2022 – All good things come to an end! The last Round of WES 2022 season Presented by Magneti Marelli Checkstar is getting closer, as it takes place in Castelldefels-Barcelona, Spain, next Saturday 15th October.

Since WES’ first edition in 2019, Barcelona hosts the Grand Finale, with a one-shot race, and the awaited season Awards ceremony.

WES Castelldefels-Barcelona Round Preview to watch

For the second full racing year of the UCI E-MTB XC World Cup new awards and prizes have been introduced (in bold):

  • World Cup Women’s and Men’s Winner
  • World Cup Women’s and Men’s 2nd and 3rd place
  • Winning Team
  • Raspini Pole Position Women’s and Men’s Winner 
  • Magneti Marelli Checkstar Power Lap Women’s and Men’s Winner
  • WES Holeshot Women’s and Men’s Winner

Some more exciting news to come in 2023 will be announced at the end of this season.

Mélanie Pugin and Jérôme Gilloux awarded the 2021 season Magneti Marelli Checkstar Power Lap

New features also for the racetrack designed last year and refreshed for this edition: 3.9 km in length, 7 laps for a total distance of 27.3 km and a total climbing of 952 m.

The 2022 Castelldefels track in graphics

In the Women’s field, Reigning World Champion and Swiss Champion Nicole Göldi (Trek) will also clinch the World Cup Title this year for the first time, as she comes to Barcelona leading the standings with 213 points, 44 ahead of Sofia Wiedenroth (Specialized), with 25 available. The German secured her second place overall by 26 points ahead of French Justine Tonso (Lapierre). The group behind the top-3 is led by local Sandra Santanyes (Trek), and sees the return of Swiss National Cycling MTB U19 girls’ coach Kathrin Stirnemann (Thömus) and the debut in the series of Elisabeth Guillén Mateos (Fantic).

Göldi, Wiedenroth, Tonso and Santanyes in action along the 2022 season

This year, Men’s Reigning World Champion Jérôme Gilloux (Lapierre) is coming to the final round with a 73-point advantage over the Swiss runner up Joris Ryf (Bergstrom), a much wider gap, compared to last year’s title battle between the two protagonists, open till the last turn of the last race, eventually won by the Frenchman.

A completely different scenario in the fight for third place, as 5 men of 5 different nationalities and 5 different bike manufacturers are within 23 points only: Ismael Esteban (BH) from Spain, Loïc Noël (Specialized) from Switzerland, Honduran Milton Ramos (Rockrider), Dutchman Jeroen van Eck (Ghost), and Hugo Pigeon (Scott) from France, the Spaniard looking like the favourite in this prediction.

Gilloux and Ryf 1st and 2nd overall, respectively

Amongst other Spanish riders attending this race, permanent WES athlete Genis Lloreta (Focus), the popular brothers Jofre and Jorda Cullell(Mondraker and Impuls, respectively), Alberto Mingorance (Cannondale) 2nd in WES Girona Race 1, and wildcards Lluc Coma, Oscar Lopez, Dario Cristini, David Lorca, Angel Aznar, Pau Gispert and Guillem Cassu, their participation confirming the great interest in the series in this country.

Left to right: Mingorance, Gilloux, Esteban on Race 1 podium in Girona

Adrenaline and the top world’s competition in Castelldefels, Carretera de la Sentiu, starting with the Qualirace at h 11:45 am on Saturday 15 OctoberRace start at h 3:00 pm, the podium ceremony taking place at h 4:30 pm in Plaça del Castell.

Follow the Live Timing and get the Results HERE
Download the Event Schedule HERE
Download this Press Release in PDF HERE

Descargar la versión en castellano AQUÍ