17 October 2022

Göldi and Gilloux clinch the 2022 World Cup Title

Wiedenroth and Ryf get the final race win

Castelldefels-Barcelona (Spain), Monday 17 October 2022 – The last race of WES season Presented by Magneti Marelli Checkstar took place last Saturday in perfect Mediterranean weather conditions, in Castelldefels-Barcelona.

For the second year in a row, the racetrack near the beautiful castle overlooking the Barcelona bay hosted the final one-shot race and the season awards ceremony of the UCI E-MTB World Cup.

The last race in Castelldefels-Barcelona Best Moments to watch

In the Women’s field, Sofia Wiedenroth (Specialized) was the fastest in the morning Qualirace and took the Raspini Pole Position Award along with World Champ Jérôme Gilloux (Lapierre).

Wiedenroth and Gilloux take the last race Pole Position Award Powered by Raspini

From the first spot on the grid, Wiedenroth managed to also take the Holeshotand the lead of the race. The German maintained her first position for the entire race distance, ahead of Swiss Kathrin Stirnemann (Thomus), who made her return to WES for this Round with a strong race pace, finishing one minute behind the leader, after 7 laps. Behind her, Justine Tonso (Lapierre), recovered after being sick for a few weeks, managed to do her race in third place and not to leave Sandra Santanyes (Trek) and Elisabeth Guillen (Fantic) any chance to attack her. The French was then on the third step of the podium and the Catalan riders were however happy with their performance, they reported.

Left to right: Stirnemann, Wiedenroth and Tonso are the podium finishers of the last round

Reigning World Champion Nicole Göldi (Trek) finishes this World Cup season in first place in the overall standings, despite her DNS in this race. Sofia Wiedenroth and Justine Tonso confirmed their second and third place, respectively.
The Swiss is also the Pole Position Woman of the year.

Göldi awarded the season Raspini pole position along with Gilloux

The Men’s race saw Poleman Gilloux starting from the first place on the grid, Joris Ryf (Bergstrom) and Ismael Esteban (BH) aside. The Spaniard was incredibly fast at the start and took the Holeshot, being protagonist of a tight battle with Ryf, who took the lead from lap 1, and Gilloux. Behind them, Fabio Spena (Specialized), Lluc Coma (Impuls) and Jofre Cullell (Mondraker) were all fighting within a few of seconds, for the spectators’ delight. A coup de théâtre happened at the beginning of lap 3, when Reigning World Champ Gilloux had a flat tyre and after stopping at the Technical Assistance Zone and changing the tyre, he decided to leave the race. Ryf took his third victory in this season, Esteban made his best result this year with a second place and Spena stepped onto the podium for the third time in 2022.

Ryf winning the race in style

At the top of the leaderboard, the discipline’s GOAT Jérôme Gilloux clinches his second World Cup Title in a row, a perfect season for the French rider, followed by Swiss Champion Joris Ryf, and Ismael Esteban, who secured his third place overall with the last race podium finish.

The World Cup Winners awarded in Barcelona

Despite the DNF, Gilloux set the fastest race lap and took the Magneti Marelli Checkstar Power Lap Award, securing the final prize of the season. In the Women’s the race’s fastest lap was set by Wiedenroth, but Tonso took the greatest star-shaped award of the season.

Justine Tonso awarded the season Magneti Marelli Checkstar Power Lap

The Winning Team of 2022 WES edition is Lapierre Overvolt, represented by Gilloux and Tonso, followed by Specialized, which is also the Best Bike Manufacturer, and Trek. Best Motor Brand of the season is Bosch with a huge gap ahead of its competitors.
Another exciting racing season of the UCI E-MTB World Cup is in the books with old and new faces taking all the Awards in the final ceremony night, celebrated on the Barcelona Beach.
The 2023 racing calendar will be unveiled in the next few weeks, confirming the 2022 hosting countries and adding some new attractive venues.
Race and Season results HERE
Download the photo gallery HERE
Download this Press Realease in PDF HERE