6 October 2019

Champions Crowned at WES Catalunya Round

WES Catalunya Round saw the First International e-Bike Series crown its Championship winners at an exciting final event of this inaugural season for world e-bike competition.

The XC and Enduro races took place on fast, rolling and rocky courses in and around the Catalonian capital of Barcelona, with riders pushing to the edge of their bikes’ capabilities in the chase for the Round and Championship wins.

WES XC Men Champion 2019 Marco Aurelio Fontana.

WES XC Catalunya

In the XC Men category, Jeroen van Eck pushed hard on what was described as possibly the best course of the season to take the Round victory, with third-placed Marco Aurelio Fontana securing enough points to take the Championship title.

WES Catalunya Round XC Men winner Jeroen van Eck.

Sofia Wiedenroth wrapped up a dream season in XC Women, pedalling hard around the testing circuit to win the Round by a substantial margin and ensure the Championship title.

WES Enduro Catalunya

After an exciting afternoon’s racing in the Enduro Men category, it was Gustav Wildhaber who took the Round win. Nicolas Quéré and Nicolas Vouilloz vied for Series points throughout the race, but in the end, it was Quéré who finished highest and took the Championship title.

WES Catalunya Round Enduro Men winner Gustav Wildhaber.

In the Enduro Women category, the Championship would be decided between Jessica Bormolini and Sofia Wiedenroth, both of whom were on-form and pushing hard for positions in the Round. After the five stages it was Wiedenroth who took the Round win, but Bormolini’s second-place points were enough for her to secure the Championship.

WES Enduro Women Champion 2019 Jessica Bormolini.

WES Championship

Sofia Wiedenroth celebrating her WES XC Women Champion title. Wiedenroth also took the WES Catalunya Round wins in both XC and Enduro Women.

After four varied and testing events in diverse locations, the WES e-Bike Series is delighted to award the following Championship titles:

2019 WES Enduro Men Champion — Nicolas Quéré, Team Giant

2019 WES Enduro Women Champion — Jessica Bormolini, Scott MrWolf eBike Racing Team

2019 WES XC Men Champion — Marco Aurelio Fontana, Focus Scuderia Fontana

2019 WES XC Women Champion — Sofia Wiedenroth, Cube Action Team

WES Enduro Men Champion 2019 Nicolas Quéré.

2019 WES Manufacturers Winner — Cube Bikes

2019 WES Teams Winner — Cube Action Team

2019 WES Holeshot Winner — Sofia Wiedenroth, Cube Action Team

WES would like to thank everyone who has followed the Series in this first year, especially the riders, teams and manufacturers who have competed for these prestigious titles.