18 July 2021

Schneitter and Ryf on the top step of the podium in Charade Race 2

Clermont-Ferrand (France), Sunday 18 July 2021 – After another foggy start of the day, the sun was finally shining on the E-Circuit de Charade for the second race of Round 3 Presented by Magneti Marelli Checkstar.
The trail dried out bringing different conditions from yesterday, more grip and some changes in the tyre choice. 

The Women’s race saw a few moments of drama and interesting changes in the top-3 over the 6 laps all riders have to complete.

Galvanised for yesterday’s win, Mélanie Pugin (BH) was feeling comfortable in the morning’s Qualirace and on her first spot on Race 2 starting grid. After the first two laps, the French rider was stopped by a technical problem she managed to fix in the Assistance Zone, eventually finishing third, but with a smile on her face, as she maintains her first place in the overall standings. “That’s E-Bikes” – Nathalie Schneitter (Trek Bosch) said, taking advantage from reigning World Champ’s bike issue and pushing hard to get her second win in the season. Second place for Laura Charles (Orbea) at her first WES round, who improved lap by lap and managed to keep re-starting Pugin, Sofia Wiedenroth (Specialized) and Kathrin Stirnemann (Thömus) far behind.

On the Men’s side of the race, a visibly stronger Joris Ryf (Bergstrom) scored the double in the Charade Round, clinching the first step of the podium again in Race 2, ahead of disappointed Jérôme Gilloux (Moustache). However, today the standings leader looked more comfortable than yesterday and managed to reduce the lap time gap.

The Swiss grabbed important points in both races and 10 points only now separate him from the French E-XC specialist in the top-2. Another convincing race for Théo Charmes (Cube) finishing third twice this weekend, earning important points for his third overall place, after an intense battle with Cecce Camoin (Specialized). Once again, the Corsican was the protagonist of a photo-finish fight for third place, a predictable end of an exciting elbow-to-elbow competition today.

Magneti Marelli Checkstar Power Lap Award wentto Nathalie Schneitterand Joris Ryf, who set the fastest lap in 10:52.28 on Lap 2 and 9:13.13 on Lap 1, respectively.

Download the Photo Gallery HERE
Get the full resultsHERE
Download this Press Release in PDF HERE