22 May 2023

Justine Tonso and Emeric Ienzer shone to take the win on Day 2

The Lapierre squad now leads in both categories

Monaco (P.ty), Sunday 21 May 2023 –, The Monaco Round presented by Département Alpes-Maritimes was demanding from start to finish on Day 2, reducing the number of laps to 5 instead of 7 due to bad weather conditions.


2023 WES UCI E-MTB XC World Cup Monaco Race 2


Once again, Breil-sur-Roya played host to an exhilarating electric bike race that had an unexpected twist. The race took place after a night of relentless rain, transforming the challenging muddy terrain into a surprising advantage for the riders.

Justine Tonso (Lapierre Overvolt) and Hugo Pigeon (Scott Sr Suntour Enduro Team) were the Raspini Pole Position winners. After securing Qualirace’s first position, Tonso took home the top honors as Race Winner, surpassing Women’s Reigning World Champ and World Cup Winner, the Swiss Nicole Göldi (Trek-Bosch) in the overall standings.


Hugo Pigeon and Justine Tonso


The track, initially expected to be treacherous and slippery, underwent a remarkable transformation with Antonia Daubermann (Advanced E-Racing) and Pigeon taking the Fassi Holeshot.


Antonia Daubermann


Also, debutant Anna Spielmann (Haibike) finished in third place, while Sofia Wiedenroth (Specialized) ended up in fourth after experiencing technical issues and stopping for assistance, losing valuable time. Daubermann finished in fifth, with Celia Audoli (Monaco) coming in sixth.

In the Men’s race, “the Specialist” Gilloux started off leading on Day 2. However, he suffered some technical issues on the very last lap, giving way to Emeric Ienzer (Scott Sr Suntour Enduro Team) who eventually took the win, followed by his teammate Hugo Pigeon, leaving Men’s Reigning World Champ and World Cup Winner in third place, despite being the favorite in Monaco. The podium finishers were followed by Jeroen van Eck (Ghost Racing Team) and Jorys Rif (Specialized), fourth and fifth, respectively. Gilloux maintains his lead in the standings, ahead of fellow Frenchman Pigeon and Ryf.


Men’s Podium: Hugo Pigeon (left), Emeric Ienzer (center) and Jérôme Gilloux (right)


The first Magneti Marelli Checkstar Power Lap Award of the season went to Göldi and Gilloux. 


W&M Reigning World Champs and World Cup Winners, Jérôme Gilloux and Nicole Göldi


Now, the next event to take place in Bologna, Italy on 10-11 June.

Entry Lists, Race and Results HERE
Download this Press Release in PDF HERE
Download the photo gallery HERE