23 July 2022

Göldi and Ryf win Race 1 at Charade

Clermont-Ferrand (France) Saturday 23 July 2022 – Race 1 of the UCI E-MTB XC World Cup French Round was held today at the circuit of Charade in great weather conditions and the battle for the podium was a Swiss-French-speaking affair since the early morning stage. 

WES Charade Day 1 Best of video

In the morning’s Qualirace determining the starting grid, Reigning Champion Nicole Göldi (Trek) set the fastest time in the Women’s while in the Men’s, the Raspini Pole Position Award goes to her fellow citizen, Joris Ryf (Bergstrom). The Swiss reported he is feeling comfortable on this track, bringing him good memories from last year’s double win.

Nicole Göldi and Joris awarded with the Raspini Pole Position

Nicole Göldi had an impressive start in the Women’s race and managed to maintain the lead for the full distance, ahead of Justine Tonso (Lapierre) who actually took the Holeshot, Laura Charles (Miranda Factory) Swiss Champ Nathalie Schneitter (Trek/Bosch), German Sofia Wiedenroth (Specialized) not 100% fit yet and the Spaniard Sandra Santanyes (Trek), who made her comeback for this round.
Race 1 podium perfectly matches the trend of the entire race, with the World Champ taking her second win of the season, Tonso stepping on the second spot for the first time, having an almost full score and 1 DNF, and her French fellow Charles, repeating herself after her first podium in 2021 here at Charade.

Race 1 Winner Nicole Göldi in action

Different scenario on the Men’s side of the race, as Hugo Pigeon (Scott SR Suntour Enduro Team), took his third Holeshot out of three race starts in the season, ahead of Jérôme Gilloux (Lapierre), Loïc Nöel (Specialized/Cycles Prof), Joris Ryf and Fabio Spena (Specialized/Bikebox). The top-4 position changed again and again over the first 3 laps, for the spectators’ delight, until Ryf put himself in second, behind Pigeon and ahead of Spena and pushed as hard as he could on the last lap, forcing Pigeon to an unbelievable sprint finish, elbow to elbow. The rider from Bergstrom eventually took the win, the Frenchman from Scott finished second and a solid Spena completed the podium, his best result so far. 
Emeric Ienzer (Scott SR Suntour Enduro Team) ended up 4th ahead of a disappointed Noël, however, still 2nd overall
Reigning World Champion Gilloux suffered a puncture on lap 3 and finished 6th, still maintaining the standings lead.

Sprint finish with Joris Ryf and Hugo Pigeon

Tomorrow the track will be raced anticlockwise and for 7 laps instead of 6. Race start is scheduled at 2:30 pm for some more exciting action. 
Results and tomorrow’s race Live Timing available HERE
Download the Photo Gallery HERE
Download this Press Release in PDF HERE