2 June 2024

Gilloux gets the double while Schneitter wins on Day 2

Schneitter and Wiedenroth are tied on points, while the Swiss leads the Standings


Pietramurata, 2 June  2024 – The 2024 WES UCI E-MTB XC World Cup Trentino Round was demanding from start to finish on Day 2 because, after the Qualirace, the Race Direction decided to increase the number of laps from 7 to 8, starting beneath the sun, which bathed the “Il Ciclamino” Circuit, in Alto Garda.

Sofia Wiedenroth and Jérôme Gilloux (Lapierre Overvolt) were the Raspini Pole Position winners after securing Qualirace’s first position.

Jérôme Gilloux and Sofia Wiedenroth

The well-maintained track witnessed Kathrin Stirnemann (Thömus Maxon) and Lukas Dennda (Bergstrom Factory Racing Team) seizing the Santero Holeshot.

The Action

Anna Spielmann (Haibike) took the lead on lap 1 and then created a huge gap until the last one when she suffered engine technical issues that allowed Nathalie Schneitter (Trek Bosch) to gradually advance and overtake her. The Swiss eventually took her season’s first victory. 

Nathalie Schneitter

Rounding out the podium were Day 1 Winner Sofia Wiedenroth, ahead of local rider and Reigning National Champ Anna Oberparleiter (Team Cingolani Specialized), and French Champ Justine Tonso (Club Des Sports Vesubie).

Race 2 Women’s Podium

While the Women fought hard, the Men were equally engaged as Jérôme Gilloux surrendered the lead but swiftly reclaimed it, maintaining his position from lap 2 until the finish line, securing a double triumph in Pietramurata.

Jérôme Gilloux

Italian Mirko Tabacchi (Leynicese RDR Italia Factory Team) showcased his home turf prowess by clinching second place, with World Champion Joris Ryf (Specialized) in third.

Race 2 Men’s Podium

Local hero Martino Fruet (Lapierre Trentino Ale’) once again finished in fourth place, followed by Ismael Esteban Agüero in fifth (Logos Energía Bh), who also repeated his performance from Day 1 after an exciting battle between them.

On the other hand, the first Magneti Marelli Checkstar Power Lap Award of the season went to Spielmann and Gilloux.

Jérôme Gilloux and Anna Spielmann

What’s Next?

2024 WES UCI E-MTB XC World Cup season will prepare for a back-to-back action, as Germany (Bielstein on September 7-8) and Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps on September 11-12), where these two venues will showcase four amazing races.

Entry Lists, Race and Results HERE
Download the photo gallery HERE (Credit: WES ( Seb Schieck)